MIFFLIN COUNTY - 7th Class

Formed on September 19, 1789 from parts of Cumberland and Northumberland Counties

Boroughs

Name of Borough	Incorporated	Town Laid Out or Settled	Incorporated From
Burnham	June 26, 19	11	Derry Township
Kistler	197	25	Wayne Township
Lewistown	Apr. 11, 179	95 1790 _	_
McVeytown	Apr. 9, 183	33 1795	Oliver Township
Newton Hamilton	Apr. 12, 184	43 1802	-

Second Class Townships

Name of Township	Incorporated	Settled Settled	Incorporated From
Armagh	Jan. 1770	1766	Incorporated while part of Cumberland County
Bratton	1850	1766	Oliver Township
Brown	Jan. 1837	About 1750	Incorporated while part of
			Cumberland County
Decatur	Jan. 1813	1763	Derry Township
Derry	July 1766	About 1750	Incorporated while part of
			Cumberland County
Granville	Apr. 1833	1755	Derry Township
Menno	Jan. 1837	1754	Union Township
Oliver	Apr. 1835	About 1762	Wayne Township
Union	1790	About 1754	Armagh Township
Wayne	July 1782	About 1755	Derry Township

Frederic A. Godcharles, Pennsylvania, Political, Governmental, Military and Civil: Political and Civil History Volume (New York: American Historical Society, Inc., 1933).

A History of the Juniata Valley, Vol. I (Harrisburg, Pa.: National Historical Association, Inc., 1936).