FAYETTE COUNTY - 4th Class

Formed on September 26, 1783 from part of Westmoreland County

Third Class Cities

Name of City	Incorporated	Prior Status
Connellsville	May 12, 1911	Founded as a town on March 21, 1793. Incorporated as a borough on March 1, 1806
Uniontown	Dec. 19, 1913	Incorporated as a borough on April 4, 1796. Relinquished borough charter later and reincorporated on March 2, 1805

Boroughs

			Town Laid Out	
Name of Borough	Incorpora	ted	or Settled	Incorporated From
D 11 T	. 15	10/2	1012	117 1 to 170
Belle Vernon	Apr. 15,		1813	Washington Township
Brownsville	· •	1815	1785	Brownsville Township
Dawson	June 8,	1872	1866	Tyrone Township
Dunbar	June 26,	1883	1857	Dunbar Township
Everson	Dec. 7,	1903		Upper Tyrone Township
Fairchance	Mar. 7,	1889		Georges Township
Fayette City	Dec.	1847^{-1}	1806	Washington Township
	Mar.	1840 ²		
Markleysburg	Sept. 11,	1893	1860	Henry Clay Township
Masontown	Mar.	1876	1798	Germany Township
Newell	Aug. 19,	1952		Jefferson Township
Ohiopyle	Nov. 6,		1868	Stewart Township
	Sept. 7,	1891 ²	4	
Perryopolis	Jan. 12,	1953	1814	Perry Township
Point Marion		1893	1842	Springhill Township
Smithfield	Dec. 11,	1916 ¹	1799	Georges Township
		1900 ²		_
South Connellsville	Nov. 15,	1910		Connellsville
Vanderbilt	Apr. 7,	1903		Dunbar Township

FAYETTE COUNTY - 4th Class (cont'd)

Second Class Townships

Name of Township	Incorpora	ted	Settled	1	Incorporated From
Brownsville	Nov.	1817			Redstone Township
Bullskin	Mar.	1784	About	1772	Tyrone Township
Connellsville		1822		1772	Bullskin Township
Dunbar	Dec.	1798	About	1752	Menallen Township
Franklin	Dec.	1783	About	1777	
Georges	Dec.	1783		1730	
German					
Henry Clay	June	1824		1768	Wharton Township
Jefferson	June	1840		1761	Washington Township
Lower Tyrone	Sept. 5,	1877	About	1784	Tyrone Township
Luzerne	Dec.	1783	About	1763	
Menallen	Dec.	1783		1765	
Nicholson	Dec. 19,	1845			Springfield, German and
					Georges Townships
North Union	Mar. 11,	1851		1767	Union Township
	Mar. 11,	1857 ²			
Perry	June 7,	1839		1769	Franklin, Tyrone and
					Washington Townships
Redstone	Dec.	1797		1771	Menallen Township
Salt Lick	Dec.	1797		1776	Bullskin Township
South Union	Mar. 11,	1851		1767	Union Township
	Mar. 11,	1857 ²			
Springfield		1847	About	1780	Salt Lick Township
	Dec.	1848 ²			
Springhill	Dec.	1783		1767	Settled in 1767
Stewart	Nov. 17,	1855	About	1772	About 1772
Upper Tyrone	Sept. 5,	1877		1766	Tyrone Township
Washington	Dec.	1783			
Wharton	Dec.	1783	About	1778	

l Godcharles

² Nelson's Biographical Dictionary and Historical Book of Fayette County, Pennsylvania, Vol. II, (Uniontown, Pa.: S. B. Nelson Publisher, 1900).