JUNIATA COUNTY - 8th Class

Formed on March 2, 1831 from part of Mifflin County and named for the Juniata River

Boroughs

	Town Laid Out					
Name of Borough	Incorporated		or Settled		Incorporated From	
Mifflin	Mar. 17,			1849	Milford Township	
Mifflintown	Mar. 6,			1790	Fermanagh Township	
Port Royal	-	1843	Apr. 27,	1812	Milford Township	
Thompsontown	•	1867 ¹		1790	Delaware Township	
	Feb. 7,	1868 ²				

Second Class Townships

Name of Township	Incorporated	Settled	Incorporated From
Beale	Feb. 8, 1843	1775	Milford Township
Delaware	Feb. 3, 1836		Greenwood and Walker Twps.
Fayette	Dec. 4, 1834	1755	Greenwood and Fermanagh Townships
Fermanagh	About 1755	1754	Incorporated while part of Cumberland County
Greenwood	1767	1763	Incorporated while part of Cumberland County
Lack	Oct. 23, 1754		Incorporated while part of Cumberland County
Milford	Nov. 7, 1768	1755	Incorporated while part of Cumberland County
Monroe	July 24, 1858	1772	Greenwood Township
Spruce Hill	Sept. 10, 1858	1762	Turbett Township
Susquehanna	July 24, 1858	1755	Greenwood Township
Turbett	Nov. 20, 1815	1755	Milford Township
Tuscarora	1825	1767	Lack Township
Walker	Apr. 1822	1765	Fermanagh Township

l Godcharles

² A History of the Juniata Valley, Vol. I (Harrisburg, Pa., National Historical Association, Inc., 1936).