NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY - 5th Class

Formed on March 21, 1772 from parts of Lancaster, Cumberland, Berks, Bedford and Northampton Counties

Third Class Cities

Name of City	Incorporated	Prior Status
Sunbury	Dec. 29, 1920	Laid out as a town on July 4, 1772. Incorporated as a borough on March 24, 1797
Shamokin	Jan. 1, 1950	Laid out on March 1, 1835 as a town. Incorporated as a borough in November, 1867

Boroughs

Name of Borough	Incorpor	ated	Town Laid Out or Settled	Incorporated From
Herndon Kulpmont	Aug. 29,	1902	1827	Jackson Township Mount Carmel Township
Marion Heights		1906		Mount Carmel Township
McEwensville	Nov. 7,	1857	1825	Delaware Township
Milton	Feb. 26,	1817	1792 ¹	Turbot Township
Mt. Carmel	Nov. 3,	1862	1853	Mount Carmel Township
Northumberland	Apr. 14,	•	1772	Point Township
	Jan. 16,	1828 ²		
Rivers ide	May 4,	1871		Gearhart Township
Snydertown	May 26,	1871		Shamokin Township
Turbotville	Apr.	1858	1850	Turbot Township
Watsontown	Nov. 4,	1867	1858-1859	Turbot Township

First Class Township

Name of Township	Incorporated as a Twp.	Settled	Incorporated From
Coal	Nov. 1837		Shamokin and Little Mahanoy Townships

NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY - 5th Class (cont'd)

Second Class Townships

Name of Township	Incorporated	Settled	Incorporated From
Delaware	Apr. 15, 1843	1774	Turbot Township
East Cameron			Cameron Township
East Chillisquaque		1769	Chillisquaque Township
Jackson	Jan. 6, 1836	1775	Mahanoy Township
Jordan	Aug. 4, 1852	About 1778	Jackson and Upper Mahanoy Townships
Lewis	Apr. 15, 1843	About 1773	Turbot Township
Little Mahanoy	Aug. 19, 1813		Augusta and Shamokin Twps.
Lower Augusta	Apr. 13, 1846	1794	Augusta Township
Lower Mahanoy	Aug. 1806	1777	Mahanoy Township
Mt. Carmel	Nov. 14, 1854		Coal Township
Point	Feb. 1786	About 1756	Turbot and Mahoning Twps.
Ralpho	Feb. 5, 1883	1779	Shamokin Township
Rockefeller	May 7, 1880	1774	Lower Augusta Township
Rush	Aug. 18, 1819	About 1784	Shamokin Township
Shamokin	Aug. 1788	About 1774	Catawissa Twp. Called
			Ralpho Twp. until Aug., 1789
Turbot	Apr. 9, 1772	About 1750	
Upper Augusta	Apr. 13, 1846	1701	Augusta Township
Upper Mahanoy	Aug. 1806	1777	Mahanoy Township
Washington	Jan. 14, 1856	1774	Upper Mahanoy and Jackson
			Townships
West Cameron		17/0	Cameron Township
West Chillisquaque		1769	Chillisquaque Township
Zerbe	Mar. 11, 1853	About 1800	Coal Township

l Godcharles

2 Herbert C. Bell, (ed.), <u>History of Northumberland County</u>, <u>Pennsylvania</u> (Chicago: Brown, Runk and Company, Publishers, 1891).