Union County

Created on March 22, 1813, from part of Northumberland County. Its name is an allusion to the Federal Union. Lewisburg, the county seat after 1855, was laid out in 1785 and named for Ludwig (Anglicized to "Lewis") Derr, its founder. It was incorporated as a borough on March 21, 1822. New Berlin was the county seat from 1815 to 1855.

Settlers appeared in the Buffalo Valley in 1750, and the area was raided during the French and Indian War. Indians held little girls from the LeRoy and Leininger families captive for years. At Fort Stanwix in 1768 Pennsylvania purchased the area from several Indian nations. New settlers arrived via the Tulpehocken Road, although Indians raided again in 1777. The Evangelical Association was founded in New Berlin, and its activities were centered there for many years. In 1830, the Western Branch Division of the Pennsylvania Canal linked Lewisburg to the outside world, and New Berlin ceased growing when the county seat was transferred to Lewisburg. The Panic of 1873 eclipsed Lewisburg, however. Between 1865 and 1910, Mifflinburg grew to be the horse buggy capital of America. Dinkey railroads exploited lumber in remote parts of county. Iron making from local ore was successful until 1865, but could not compete after that. Today, farms cover almost one-third of the county, and it is competitive in the production of field grains, poultry, and dairy products. Furniture and cabinet manufacture, yarn and apparel, printing, road paving materials, and cable assemblies are major businesses in the county. Governor Simon Snyder was from Selinsgrove, which was part of Union County until 1855.

UNION COUNTY - 7th Class

Formed on March 22, 1813 from part of Northumberland County

Boroughs

Name of Borough	Incorporated	Town Laid Out or Settled	Incorporated From
Hartleton	Sept. 18, 1858	S 1773	Hartley Township
Lewisburg	Mar. 31, 1812	March 1785	
Mifflinburg	Apr. 14, 1827	June 20, 1794	
New Berlin	June 18, 1795	1792	

Second Class Townships

Name of Township	Incorporated	Settled	Incorporated From
Buffalo	Apr. 9, 1772	1770	Incorporated while part of Northumberland County
East Buffalo	Jan. 1792		Buffalo Township
Gregg	Mar. 21, 1865	1787	White Deer Township
Hartley	Apr. 11, 1811	1770	Incorporated while part of
			Northumberland County
Kelly	1824	1783	White Deer Township
Lewis	Feb. 14, 1857	1770	Hartley Township
Limestone	Feb. 26, 1850	1769	West Buffalo Township
Union	Sept. 1815	1769	East Buffalo Township
West Buffalo	Jan. 1793	1769	Buffalo Township
White Deer	Feb. 1776	1772	Buffalo Township

l Godcharles

² History of That Part of the Susquehanna and Juniata Valleys Embraced in the Counties of Mifflin, Juniata, Perry, Union and Snyder in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Vol. II(Philadelphia: Everts, Peck and Richards, 1886).